#bha22 Finalists Announced

Published 26th Jul 2022 by Chlo Weldon
#bha22 finalists announced

The finalists for HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards 2022, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional have officially been announced.

The first round of judging for this year’s awards took place on Monday 25 July at Epsom Downs Racecourse, where the industry reunited to choose their favourite work across 16 specialist and regional categories.

Click on the categories and names to see the full collections (we're dropping each category from now until the Awards on Monday 28 November, so if the collection you're looking for isn't there yet - keep checking back!)

Congratulations to all the finalists on this fantastic achievement and so, without further ado, the British Hairdressing Awards 2022 Finalists are…


Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Olivia Binch, Mark Leeson

Rebecca Jacques, Daniel Granger Hairdressing

Jessica Neil, KH Hair West Bridgford

Antonio Palladino, Antonio Giovanni Hairdressing

Darrel Starkey, Taylors Hair Studio

Christian Wiles, Wiles Studios


International Collection of the Year

Chrystofer Benson, Chrystofer Benson Collective

Jacky Chan, Oscar Oscar Chadstone

Jude McEwen, TONI&GUY Perth

Dee Parker Attwood, Wieselmann Salon

Danny Pato, D&M Hair Design

Viktoriia Vradii, Le Salon VRV

London Hairdresser of the Year

Jordanna Cobella, Cobella

Daniele De Angelis, TONI&GUY Shoreditch

Danilo Giangreco, Danilo Hair Boutique

Philipp Haug, TONI&GUY Sloane Square

Marlon Hawkins, Brooks and Brooks

Marney Lian, Gritt London


Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

Nikki Clifford, NJUK Hair

Tracey Ann Smith, French & Ivi

Ashley & Stephanie Gamble, Ashley Gamble

Let Lew, Let Lew Hair Design

Tim Scott-Wright, Tim Scott-Wright @ The Hair Surgery

Nicola Smyth, Nicola Smyth


North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Rebecca Dickenson, Rebecca Dickenson Hair Body and Soul

Tracey Dykes, Hooker & Young

Joseph Ferraro & Rita Tuska, Joseph Ferraro Hair

Rick & Zoe Roberts, Rick Roberts

Emma Simmons, Salon 54

Jonathan Turner & Sophie Gibson, Hooker & Young


North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Naomi Brooks, The Hair Sanctuary

John Claxton, Claxton Hair

Laura Kulik & Ria Kulik, The Hairbank

Melissa Timperley, Melissa Timperley Salons

Melanie Tudor, En Route Hair & Beauty

Jon Wilsdon, TONI&GUY Deansgate


Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing

Simon Hill, SESH Hairdressing

Colin McAndrew, Medusa

Allan Mckechnie, Rutherfords

Caroline Sanderson & Paul Ralph, Ego Hair Design

Karen Thomson, KAM Hair and Body Spa


Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Andrea Dorata, Dorata Hairdressing

Thomas Hills, TH1

Robert Masciave, Metropolis Hairdressing

Kerry Mather, KJM Salons

Jack Mead & Lydia Wolfe, Jack & The Wolfe

Andrew Smith, Andrew Smith Salons

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year

Allison Adams & Martene Mallett, Martin Crean at MODE Samantha Bell, Hair at 58 Brandon Messinger, Guy Christian Ben Russell, Ben Russell Salon Karoliina Saunders, Karoliina Saunders Hair Design Steven Smart, Smartest 73  


Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Lisa Farrall, WIG London

Ashley & Stephanie Gamble, Ashley Gamble

Brandon Messinger, Guy Christian

Caroline Sanderson & Paul Ralph, Ego Hair Design

Melissa Timperley, Melissa Timperley Salons

Anne Veck, Anne Veck Oxford


Artistic Team of the Year

HOB Academy Artistic Team

Hooker & Young Artistic Team

Medusa Art Team

MODE Artistic Team

Salon Jedi Art Team

Smartest 73 Artistic Team


Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Emmanuel Esteban, Salon Sloane

Darja Laett, TONI&GUY Kensington

Shelley Lane, Shelley Lane

Dylan McConnachie, Koop Studio

Tomer Nagar, TONI&GUY Shoreditch

Enrica Russo, Danilo Hair Boutique


Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Kevin Luchmun, Luchmun Studios Joe Maughan & Michael Young, Hooker & Young Bayleigh Peace & Laura Scott, Mark Leeson Andrew Plester, HARE & BONE Fitzrovia Caroline Sanderson & Masahiro Kudo, Ego Hair Design George Smith, TONI&GUY Salisbury  

Newcomer of the Year

Molly Drummond, Hooker & Young James Forte, Guy Christian Salon Paolo Giamattei, Marc Antoni Emy Roccabella, Danilo Hair Boutique India Sparacia & Sebastian Sparacia, Sculpture Salon Emma Vickery, Percy & Reed  

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician

James Earnshaw, James Earnshaw Hair Brooke Evans, BE Ironbridge Franscesco Fontana, TONI&GUY North Audley Ashley and Stephanie Gamble, Ashley Gamble Stuart Matuska, TONI&GUY Shoreditch Daniel Spiller, Marc Antoni  

Trend Image of the Year

Ria Alderson-Kulik, The Hairbank

Joseph Ferraro, Joseph Ferraro

Annie Franklin, Prestige Hair Salon

Jo Lomax, Smartest 73

Caroline Sanderson & Jay Nicol, Ego Hair Design

Steven Smart, Smartest 73

  Session Hairdresser of the Year Nominees Chris Appleton Gary Gill Syd Hayes Nick Irwin Eugene Souleiman Angelo Seminara   British Hairdresser of the Year Nominees Richard Ashcroft Sally Brooks Robert Eaton Gary Hooker & Michael Young Mark Leeson Cos Sakkas Angelo Seminara    
Chlo Weldon

Chlo Weldon

Published 26th Jul 2022

Chlo writes regular content for the print magazine and website, as well as scheduling the content for HJ’s social media channels. Chlo has a master’s degree in Magazine Journalism and previously worked as Assistant Editor at craft magazine Tattered Lace. After moving to London from her small hometown to be part of the HJ team, she is loving every minute of being involved in the industry. She loves a good treatment and is on a mission for a longer and thicker mane.

Have all the latest news delivered to your inbox

You must be a member to save and like images from the gallery.